[solved] Gigabit box (Technomate TM-NANO 2) connects at 100Mb
[solved] Gigabit box (Technomate TM-NANO 2) connects at 100Mb
I have a Technomate TM-NANO 2 box which is supposed to connect at 1Gb, but only connects at 100Mb. All the rest of the devices on my network connect at 1Gb.
Any idea why my box does not? Are there any settings I can adjust?
Any idea why my box does not? Are there any settings I can adjust?
- s3n0
- Senior member
- Beiträge: 1566
- Registriert: 02 Jan 2017 14:38
- Receiver 1: Vu+ Zero 4K
- Receiver 2: Vu+ Solo SE V2
- Hat gedankt: 106 Mal
- Hat Dank erhalten: 413 Mal
- Kontaktdaten:
Hello.
You can to try the following commands in the Shell / command-line (Telnet or SSH), for retreive some info about NIC link-speed:
This is probably caused by a universal inappropriate driver for the NIC. But try these commands first.
You can to try the following commands in the Shell / command-line (Telnet or SSH), for retreive some info about NIC link-speed:
Code: Alles auswählen
ethtool eth0
cat /sys/class/net/eth0/speed
dmesg | grep eth0
This is probably caused by a universal inappropriate driver for the NIC. But try these commands first.
Code: Alles auswählen
root@tmnano2super:~# ethtool eth0
Settings for eth0:
<------>Supported ports: [ TP MII ]
<------>Supported link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full.
<------> 100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full.
<------> 1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full.
<------>Supported pause frame use: No
<------>Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
<------>Advertised link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full.
<------> 100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full.
<------> 1000baseT/Full.
<------>Advertised pause frame use: Symmetric
<------>Advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
<------>Link partner advertised link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full.
<------> 100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full.
<------>Link partner advertised pause frame use: Symmetric Receive-only
<------>Link partner advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
<------>Speed: 100Mb/s
<------>Duplex: Full
<------>Port: MII
<------>PHYAD: 3
<------>Transceiver: internal
<------>Auto-negotiation: on
<------>Supports Wake-on: ags
<------>Wake-on: d
SecureOn password: 00:00:00:00:00:00
<------>Link detected: yes
root@tmnano2super:~# cat /sys/class/net/eth0/speed
100
root@tmnano2super:~# dmesg | grep eth0
eth0: Link down
eth0: Link up, 100 Mbps Full Duplex
eth0: Link down
eth0: Link up, 100 Mbps Full Duplex
eth0: Link down
eth0: Link up, 100 Mbps Full Duplex
eth0: Link down
- Papi2000
- Super Moderator
- Beiträge: 25686
- Registriert: 20 Apr 2013 20:09
- Receiver 1: Viele GigaBlues
- Receiver 2: DM und ZGemma
- Receiver 3: bissl VU
- Hat gedankt: 4467 Mal
- Hat Dank erhalten: 8216 Mal
Code: Alles auswählen
...
<------>Link partner advertised link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full.
<------> 100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full.
<------>Link partner advertised pause frame use: Symmetric Receive-only
<------>Link partner advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
<------>Speed: 100Mb/s
<------>Duplex: Full
...
So the link partner (which is your box connected to?) does not advertise more than 100mBit modes.
- s3n0
- Senior member
- Beiträge: 1566
- Registriert: 02 Jan 2017 14:38
- Receiver 1: Vu+ Zero 4K
- Receiver 2: Vu+ Solo SE V2
- Hat gedankt: 106 Mal
- Hat Dank erhalten: 413 Mal
- Kontaktdaten:
The problem could be in "autonegotiation" (i.e., automatic link-speed recognition, duplex, crossover, etc.). Since you write that other devices work at 1 Gbps, then the failure is somewhere in the automatic recognize link-speed (a typical error). Try to change the speed and then test the data transfer rate (for example via an FTP connection):
Turning off "autonegotiation" at 1000 Mbps line speed will probably not work (due to the standard). So then try this:
If this works, there is a neccessary to change the network configuration somewhere in system configuration ... or make a custom startup bash-script to change the configuration during booting your Enigma.
Code: Alles auswählen
ethtool -s eth0 speed 1000 duplex full autoneg off
Turning off "autonegotiation" at 1000 Mbps line speed will probably not work (due to the standard). So then try this:
Code: Alles auswählen
ethtool -s eth0 speed 1000 duplex full autoneg on
If this works, there is a neccessary to change the network configuration somewhere in system configuration ... or make a custom startup bash-script to change the configuration during booting your Enigma.