On Enigma 2. AWK: out of memory ?
-
- Beginners
- Beiträge: 23
- Registriert: 25 Dez 2022 12:28
- Receiver 1: Protek 4K
- Receiver 2: Protek 9900LX
- Hat gedankt: 13 Mal
On Enigma 2. AWK: out of memory ?
I have an old Protek 9900LX which is running 2 IPTV lines and Cccam.
When I tried to update the channels on my IPTV, I find the following message at the bottom of the script, after trying to download the new channels to the Protek through PUTTY.
AWK: out of memory.
This is the first time that this has happen to me.
The first question is how can I delete information in order for awk have more memory.
Secondly, how can I get more memory on this old receiver?
Thank you for any help with this matter.
Regards,
Matt33
1 meter motorised satellite dish with Protek 4K, OpenATV 7.2 image. Running Cccam and IPTV
Protek 9900 LX build openATV image 6.4 running with Technomate HDMI modulator and Panasonic DMR-BWT 740
When I tried to update the channels on my IPTV, I find the following message at the bottom of the script, after trying to download the new channels to the Protek through PUTTY.
AWK: out of memory.
This is the first time that this has happen to me.
The first question is how can I delete information in order for awk have more memory.
Secondly, how can I get more memory on this old receiver?
Thank you for any help with this matter.
Regards,
Matt33
1 meter motorised satellite dish with Protek 4K, OpenATV 7.2 image. Running Cccam and IPTV
Protek 9900 LX build openATV image 6.4 running with Technomate HDMI modulator and Panasonic DMR-BWT 740
- s3n0
- Senior member
- Beiträge: 1580
- Registriert: 02 Jan 2017 14:38
- Receiver 1: Vu+ Zero 4K
- Receiver 2: Vu+ Solo SE V2
- Hat gedankt: 108 Mal
- Hat Dank erhalten: 416 Mal
- Kontaktdaten:
Hi.
Hard to say. It depends on what Linux kernel you have there and what options your Linux has in terms of system tools.
HTOP is a good tool for displaying free RAM. It is also possible to install it from the feed:
This AWK probably requires free RAM... and the operating system can't free up enough memory for AWK for some reason. You can try to free the system cache before using your AWK, but I don't know if it will help:
To find out the free RAM, use, for example, the output from "/proc/meminfo":
It also depends on what actions you perform with AWK. If they are unnecessarily complicated and require a lot of free RAM, it is probably better to use other system tools for your algorithm / script.
Hard to say. It depends on what Linux kernel you have there and what options your Linux has in terms of system tools.
HTOP is a good tool for displaying free RAM. It is also possible to install it from the feed:
Code: Alles auswählen
opkg update
opkg install htop
This AWK probably requires free RAM... and the operating system can't free up enough memory for AWK for some reason. You can try to free the system cache before using your AWK, but I don't know if it will help:
Code: Alles auswählen
sync; echo 1 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
To find out the free RAM, use, for example, the output from "/proc/meminfo":
Code: Alles auswählen
cat /proc/meminfo | grep -i memfree
It also depends on what actions you perform with AWK. If they are unnecessarily complicated and require a lot of free RAM, it is probably better to use other system tools for your algorithm / script.
- s3n0
- Senior member
- Beiträge: 1580
- Registriert: 02 Jan 2017 14:38
- Receiver 1: Vu+ Zero 4K
- Receiver 2: Vu+ Solo SE V2
- Hat gedankt: 108 Mal
- Hat Dank erhalten: 416 Mal
- Kontaktdaten:
It's a command or rather a tool, designed for string processing in Linux OS. Simple scripts (programs) can be defined in it.
awk(1p) - Linux manual page
If you have a problem with IPTV or with a shell-script or with a plugin, contact the IPTV provider or the author of the software, who must correct this error. Unfortunately, OpenATV Enigma2 developers have no control over this and it is not their fault.
You can also turn on DEBUG in the Enigma2 / OpenATV configuration. Then restart the set-top box. Raise the error again. And then copy the created debug file (it should be in the folder /home/root/logs) to the PC and then paste it here - in the discussion. There will be more information about the problem. Since they are not able to write even very important facts... that what this error message comes from.
awk(1p) - Linux manual page
If you have a problem with IPTV or with a shell-script or with a plugin, contact the IPTV provider or the author of the software, who must correct this error. Unfortunately, OpenATV Enigma2 developers have no control over this and it is not their fault.
You can also turn on DEBUG in the Enigma2 / OpenATV configuration. Then restart the set-top box. Raise the error again. And then copy the created debug file (it should be in the folder /home/root/logs) to the PC and then paste it here - in the discussion. There will be more information about the problem. Since they are not able to write even very important facts... that what this error message comes from.
-
- Beginners
- Beiträge: 23
- Registriert: 25 Dez 2022 12:28
- Receiver 1: Protek 4K
- Receiver 2: Protek 9900LX
- Hat gedankt: 13 Mal
This afternoon I had a look at the folder: home/root/logs and it was full!
I deleted all content and run my IPTV list through PUTTY software and it worked! No signed of the error message : awk: out of memory!
Thank you for your help with this matter.
NB- I did not even know of a folder : "Debug " list !!! I am learning every day
I deleted all content and run my IPTV list through PUTTY software and it worked! No signed of the error message : awk: out of memory!
Thank you for your help with this matter.
NB- I did not even know of a folder : "Debug " list !!! I am learning every day
- s3n0
- Senior member
- Beiträge: 1580
- Registriert: 02 Jan 2017 14:38
- Receiver 1: Vu+ Zero 4K
- Receiver 2: Vu+ Solo SE V2
- Hat gedankt: 108 Mal
- Hat Dank erhalten: 416 Mal
- Kontaktdaten:
Code: Alles auswählen
init 4 # stop the enigma2
rm -f /home/root/logs/* # remove log files
reboot # reboot the set-top box
After triggering the error, copy only the log file that has the latest date and time (date/time stamp in the log file name).
-
- Member
- Beiträge: 837
- Registriert: 07 Mai 2019 13:52
- Wohnort: Scotland
- Receiver 1: Gigablue Quad UHD 4K
- Receiver 2: Zgemma H9 Combo
- Hat gedankt: 152 Mal
- Hat Dank erhalten: 174 Mal
Or save logs to another device I have mines set to save to usb and also epg.dat,
rather than stb memory or even limit maximum number of days of keep in logs settings.
Oder Protokolle auf einem anderen Gerät speichern. Ich habe Minen so eingestellt, dass sie auf USB und auch in epg.dat gespeichert werden.
statt STB-Speicher oder begrenzen Sie sogar die maximale Anzahl an Aufbewahrungstagen in den Protokolleinstellungen.
rather than stb memory or even limit maximum number of days of keep in logs settings.
Oder Protokolle auf einem anderen Gerät speichern. Ich habe Minen so eingestellt, dass sie auf USB und auch in epg.dat gespeichert werden.
statt STB-Speicher oder begrenzen Sie sogar die maximale Anzahl an Aufbewahrungstagen in den Protokolleinstellungen.